Emeritus Life Members

W.A.L.G. has agreed to recognise those people who have given outstanding support to the World Association of Left Handed Golfers by awarding them EMERITUS LIFE MEMBERSHIP.


Doug Crosby 1st Emeritus Life Member

Douglas Henry Crosby OAM

The first recipient of this outstanding award is Douglas Henry Crosby OAM.

Whilst hosting a dinner at this home during the tournament, the idea of forming a World Association of Left-handed Golfers was first discussed. Those present at the dinner were, Doug Crosby and Terry Lennox (Australia), Bo Medders and Jack Walters (U.S.A), Willard Gilmore and Miles Desharnais (Canada). The World Association of Left Handed Golfers was formed and Doug Crosby was elected Chairman. A position he held for the next 34 years until his retirement in 2013. To date Doug has attended all 22 WALG Championships. Doug achieved his ‘Gold Pin’ for attending 10 tournaments in 1996.  A most worthy recipient as the first ‘EMERITUS LIFE MEMBER’ of the World Association of Left Handed Golfers.


Peter Read Emeritus Life Member

Peter John Read



Peter John Read has been awarded Emeritus Life member for his outstanding contribution to W.A.L.G.

Peter Read played in the first Lefty ‘International’ held in Sydney Australia in 1979. In 1994 he was elected as Secretary of W.A.L.G. a position he has held for that past 20 years until his retirement in 2013.  The Association thanks Peter for his 20 years exemplary service as Secretary.




Categories: Roll of Honour.